Call for Submissions:


European History Section, Southern Historical Association

The John L. Snell Memorial Prize is named for Professor John L. Snell (1923-1972) who was a distinguished scholar and diplomatic historian and a founder of the European History Section. A bomber pilot during World War II, he taught at Tulane University, the University of Pennsylvania, and the University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill, where he received his Ph.D. in 1950. The Snell Prize is given annually to the graduate student with the best seminar research paper in European history, written within the past year. “European” is defined as encompassing the entire continent, including Russia, from pre-history to the present.

The Prize winner will be honored at the annual lunch meeting of the Section in conjunction with the Southern Historical Association meeting in St. Louis, Missouri, in November 2013. The award carries a stipend of $150. The Snell Award winner also receives one complimentary year of student membership in the European History Section of the Southern Historical Association.

The competition is open to graduate students of any member of the Section or of a program at a Southern college or university. Only papers written during the academic year immediately preceding the granting of the award, including summer 2012, are acceptable. The supervising faculty member or adviser who must also endorse the submission must attest to this fact. The competition is open only to seminar papers, the length of which shall not exceed 50 pages (endnotes and bibliography do not count toward this limit). Seminar papers may be related to prospective theses or dissertations.

Contestants must submit their papers, either in hard copy or by email, to each member of the committee. Manuscripts must be typed, double-spaced, and include a bibliography and the customary documentation. If contestants wish to have copies returned, they must include stamped, self-addressed envelopes. A letter of endorsement from the supervising faculty member or adviser must accompany the submission.  The deadline for receipt of the submission is August 1, 2013. One copy should be sent to each of the following three judges:

Dr. Sharon Kowalsky, Snell Prize Committee Chair
Department of History
Texas A & M Commerce
Commerce, TX 75428

Dr. Stephen D. Carls
Union University
1050 Union University Drive
Jackson, TN 38305

Dr. Patricia Kollander
Department of History
Florida Atlantic University
777 W. Glades Road
Boca Raton, FL 33431-0991

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s